Introducing… The Red Terror!

by

My bicycle fetish has been getting on top of me recently. Nothing a therapeutic post wont fix though.

Great things bikes. If you are  N.O.T.R resident then it truly is the finest form of East-West transportation, although they work equally well in a North-South direction.

I ride a spiffy red fixie, you might see a flash of me careering down Nicholson St.  You can pick me quite easily – to the untrained eye I look a touch top-heavy, but forward momentum takes care of that, and I manage to remain vertical (excepting a couple of trips home from the Alderman, when gravity won that delicate game of chess we drink-cyclists call ‘balance’). Given my penchant for ales and my use of the cycle to get around, I now look like Dr. Frankenstein’s side project – bottom half Steven Seagal, top half Rodney Dangerfield (RIP).

You're a lot of woman, you know that? Yeah, wanna make 14 dollars the hard way?

You're a lot of woman, you know that? Yeah, wanna make 14 dollars the hard way?

I made The Red Terror myself, I sourced some of the parts from the shed at CERES… the oddly tall bike geeks there are helpful, but you have to warm their cold, cold hearts first. I recommend chatting about the benefits of sealed cartridge bottom brackets, that usually gets them onside, then they will muster up the energy to find the parts you need in the ‘exclusive’ upstairs area. You can’t beat the prices at The Shed, 12 big ones for a funky retro frame… thanks tall bike geeks!

Fixies are pretty fantastic, although it seems lots of people are riding them for the fashion statement rather than the true benefits of fixed gears (I’m looking at you Dilla), and if anyone cares, and I’m not fooling myself that anyone does, Sheldon “Coasting Is Bad For You” Brown is the man to talk to.

Fixie Tricks – shame about the music though.

I’m feeling much better now, and I promise my next post will be more reader-friendly.

Keep pedaling, and God speed.

Leave a Reply

