Festival Shows < Real Shows

by

It seems like every year the pre-new-years-new-years-organisation-freak-out gets longer and starts sooner. I wish it weren’t so. Add to that the fact that festivals just don’t seem to cut it for me like they used to, and it equals a big fat question mark (no ?uestlove).

I break down most (2-3 day) festival line-ups as follows:

5% = i don’t know

25% = i know, but want to avoid

10% = have a few cool songs but their target crowds shit me

20% = i really like but will ultimately miss parts of due to shitty scheduling

20% = will kill it and i’ll swear i’ve changed my mind about festivals

10% = i’ll be enjoying various substances (non-illicit of course) and hence will lose another 10%

Now i know people hold these events dear to their hearts and i respect that, i  just prefer to spend my hard earned cheese on actual gigs, where an act gets to play a show, not a 30-45 min ‘taster’, and where my money buys me strong tasty drinks, not coupons for lukewarm cans of mid-strength beer or bourbon (shit, these days i can’t afford pre-mixed drinks anywho).

So as much as i’d love to see Black Keys ring in the ’09 or Platinum Pied Pipers crank out Shotgun (Dilla Edit), i’m gonna wait, hold my cash, and check for side shows. Sorry Pyramid Rock.

In the mean time, if anyone has plans for a mighty NY’s bash on the north side, let me know.

Leave a Reply

